Welcome!

Wow. It’s so hard to believe that it’s only been a few weeks since I packed up my bags and made the move from rural New Brunswick to the city of London (Ontario). I feel the need to clarify that I am living in Ontario, because the running joke in my family right now centers around the fact that both my twin brother and I are living in London. Unfortunately, it is my brother who is living in the United Kingdom right now and not I, but, nonetheless, I am enjoying the Canadian version just fine so far.

A few first impressions of London:

– It is  HUGE (I know I’m from a small town, but it is still just a little bit overwhelming haha)

– The squirrels are black and generally scary *shudder*

– Drivers will honk you if you don’t have your foot on the gas the second it turns- green means GO!

– Running along the Thames River (Yes, the “Thames” haha) is beautiful

– The weather here is bipolar…sunny and humid one minute followed by a crazy lightening and thunder storm the next…umbrellas will not help you when it “showers”..

So, what am I doing in London (Ontario) you ask? Well, I’ve just started my Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS) degree at Western University with the hopes of working in an academic library setting…perhaps as a reference librarian or in special collections and archives. I’m really enjoying the program so far and have met so many awesome people in the last two weeks. I just finished my second week of classes, which have been really interesting – helps when you have great profs too! The workload will be busy and very different from the individual research that I’m used to..a lot of smaller assignments and group work, as opposed to seminars and research papers. However, it seems to be a nice blend of theoretical and practical work. I’m looking forward to joining a few associations and having some fun as well in the months to come. Follow me, as I start a new program in a new city..with a few life lessons and laughs thrown in along the way.

~ L

image

Leave a Reply

